[Skip to Content]
MIS Area

MIS Research Workshop

The MIS group hosts a number of workshops during the academic year.  We invite speakers internal as well as external to Purdue to present on MIS topics of particular interest to them.  The seminar provides a forum for discussion on that topic among PhD students, faculty, and other interested parties.

The presenter typically provides a working paper at least a week in advance, which is posted online so that it is available for attendees prior to the workshop.  The workshop usually begins with a presentation of the work by the speaker, followed by a lively discussion.  Doctoral students are asked to prepare three questions in advance.  Workshops are typically held from 10:30 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. in RAWL 3082 (unless otherwise noted).

Jackie Rees and Kemal Altinkemer are the current workshop coordinators.  If you have any questions regarding the seminar, please contact either one at (jrees@purdue.edu) or (kemal@purdue.edu.

Workshop Schedule (Spring 2013)

Date   
Speaker
Paper/Notes
1/25
 
Rajiv Mukherjee
Management Information Systems
Red McCombs School of Business
The University of Texas at Austin
rajiv.mukherjee@gmail.com

The Incumbency Protection Power of Network Effects: Hype or Reality?

2/11 Rajiv Garg
Heinz College
Carnegie Mellon University
rgarg@andrew.cmu.edu

Garg - Linking on LinkedIn.pdf
Please note that today's workshop will be held in KCTR 108 3:00-4:30PM

2/15
 
Yan Huang
Heinz College
Carnegie Mellon University
yanhuang@andrew.cmu.edu

Crowdsourcing New Product Ideas under Consumer Learning
 

2/18 German Retana
Information Technology Management
Georgia Institute of Technology
german.retena@scheller.gatech.edu

Technical support and service demand:Evidence from the cloud
Please note that today's workshop will be held in KCTR 108 3:00-4:30PM
 

2/22
 
Hossein Ghasemkhani
Information Systems
University of Washington
hossein@uw.edu

P2P System

3/1 Eric Zheng
Information Systems Department
University of Texas at Dallas
ericz@utdallas.edu
Power of Silence
5/3
 
Professor Paulo Goes
Management Information Systems
Eller College of Management
University of Arizona
pgoes@eller.arizona.edu

Popularity

Please note that Professor Goes will visit us as our MIS Distinguished Speaker for Spring 2013.


Past Workshops
Fall 2005, Spring 2006, Fall 2006, Spring 2007, Fall 2007, Spring 2008, Fall 2008, Spring 2009, Fall 2009, Spring 2010, Fall 2010, Spring 2011, Fall 2011, Spring 2012, Fall 2012