Skip to Content

Krannert Helps Continue Purdue's QB Tradition

Many universities boast of tradition. But none can match Purdue’s tradition of turning out top-flight quarterbacks, many of whom were graduates of the Krannert School.

The “Cradle of Quarterbacks” has evolved over the last half century as a defining feature of Purdue football. They have set numerous NCAA and Big Ten Conference records, many have been chosen as All-Americans, national awards winners or finalists, four of them have been selected for induction into the College Football Hall of Fame — most recently Krannert’s Mark Herrmann — and two are in the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Fifteen former Purdue QBs, among them six Krannert alumni, have advanced to play in the National Football League, accumulating more starts and throwing for more touchdown passes than those from any other school.

And now, with Drew Brees joining Len Dawson and Bob Griese as Super Bowl champion quarterbacks, Purdue becomes one of just two universities that can claim three Super Bowl champs at that position. (The other school is Alabama with Bart Starr, Kenny Stabler and Joe Namath.)

Brees, Dawson, Griese and Herrmann were on campus in June for the National Football Foundation annual awards banquet.

In recognition of this heritage and with help from thousands of online voters this spring, Purdue’s Department of Intercollegiate Athletics, in conjunction with Gold & Black Illustrated and the Office of Trademark Licensing, selected Purdue’s top 12 quarterbacks of all time from a list of 31 multiple-time starters.

To commemorate the tradition, Purdue has introduced a line of jackets, T-shirts, posters, calendars, and other products featuring the 12 quarterbacks. Proceeds from their sale will benefit the 12th Boiler Scholarship Fund, which is raising money through the John Purdue Club to endow a Boilermaker football scholarship.


A different quarterback will be highlighted each week during the 2010 season. Several will appear on campus during the fall and will be honored at President’s Council pregame programs and during games.
Purdue’s 2010 version of the “Cradle of Quarterbacks” includes (in alphabetical order) the following Krannert graduates:
• Drew Brees (BSIM ’01)
• Gary Danielson (BSIM ’73)
• Jim Everett (BSIM ’85)
• Bob Griese (BSIM ’67)
• Mark Herrmann (BSM ’81)
• Mike Phipps (BSIM ’70)