Skip to Content

Student News

Rewarding Research

Rewarding Research

Krannert PhD candidates Hung Do (left), operations management, and Justin Krieg (right), economics, have been named the recipients of this year’s Robert W. Johnson Award for Distinguished Research Proposal.

Krieg was honored for his 2010-11 Purdue Research Foundation (PRF) proposal titled “When Cooperative Subjects Aren’t so Cooperative.” Do was recognized for his 2010-11 PRF proposal titled “Backward Partial Information Sharing and Its Usage for Decision Making in Supply Chains.”

The Krannert dean’s and doctoral programs offices give the award to increase both the internal and external recognition of outstanding doctoral student researchers. The award is based on the merit of the PRF proposal, which is ranked by separate panels of faculty members for economics and management.

Sound the Vuvuzelas!


The World Cup may be over, but Krannert retains bragging rights for winning Purdue’s 2010 intramural soccer championship in the graduate student/faculty/staff division, downing a group from mechanical engineering 1-0 in the title match.

Composed of both master’s and doctoral students, Krannert’s team included (clockwise from top left) Yingfei Tang (MBA ’10), Fraz Ahmed (MBA’10), Nick Richardson (MBA ’10), Jinsuh Lee (PhD ’11),
Matt Black (MBA ’11), Matt Hashim (PhD ’11), Hristian Yovchev (MBA ’10), Joe Barwick (MBA ’10), and Daniel Nedelescu (PhD ’12).