Class Notes

Alumni news and announcements


Walter C. Bornemeier II, BSIM ’61, Farmington, UT, recently retired after 50 years of practicing law in California and Utah.

C. Carl Pegels, MSIA ’63, PhD ’67, Marana, AZ, wrote a book, French Revolution, Napoleon and Russian War of 1812. It can be purchased as an e-book for Amazon Kindle.

John L. Knochel, BA ’65, Lafayette, IN, retired from Tippecanoe County after 24 years of service, the last 17 being as county commissioner. He was named a Sagamore of the Wabash, which is the highest distinction in Indiana awarded by the governor.

Stephen L. Day, BSIM ’67, president and CEO of Dover Saddlery Inc., was selected by the University of Louisville Equine Industry Program as the 2015 recipient of the John W. Galbreath Award, given annually since 1990 to those who have created and led successful equine enterprises. His hands-on interest in horses began at age 12 after his family moved from Massachusetts to Indiana, where his father, the late John Day, joined the faculty of Purdue’s new School of Management and went on to serve as dean.


James P. Alender, BSIM ’73, was named president and CEO of Salin Bank. Alender has served on the bank’s board since 2003 and as executive vice president and chief operating officer since October 2014. His banking career included stints at Key Bank as the district president and at Society National Bank serving in the same capacity. He also served as a senior vice president for Ameritrust National Bank in Indianapolis and Union Bank and Trust in Kokomo.

Mark J. Valponi, BSIM ’74, Sheffield Lake, OH, was honored by St. Edward High School as the 2015 Legal Eagles Man of the Year.

Beth Brooke-Marciniak, BSM ’81, HDR ’12, Bethlehem, PA, was featured on NCAA After the Game Web page for being the first woman at Purdue University to receive a basketball scholarship. She was highlighted as she continues to pave the way for women in the workplace and for being named seven times to Forbes magazine’s listing of the World’s 100 Most Powerful Women.

Jon Morrison, BSM ’81, was named president of the Americas Business Unit of WABCO Holdings Inc., a global supplier of technologies that improve the safety and efficiency of commercial vehicles. Morrison is a 30-year veteran of the global transportation industry and previously served as president, North America, for American Axle & Manufacturing.

Sheila Purtill, BSM ’81, is at Anthem Inc. in Indianapolis, IN.

Mark McMath, BSM ’82, MBA ’13, was named chief information officer of Methodist Le Bonheur Healthcare in August 2015. McMath comes to Methodist Le Bonheur Healthcare from Indiana University Health Bloomington Hospital where he served as CIO and vice president of information technology for 12 years.

Marsha A. Mishler, BSIM ’82, EMBA ’91, has been appointed to the board of directors of Allison Transmission Holdings Inc. Mishler is senior client executive at Fellon McCord & Associates, an energy consulting services firm to industrial, commercial, higher education, and municipal and cooperative utility clients globally, a position she has held since 2012.

Shawn Taylor, BSM ’82, was the speaker at Purdue’s summer commencement ceremonies. Taylor came to Purdue through the Business Opportunity Program, which was created in the late 1960s to increase diversity and give all students access to a world-class management education. Students from the 47th class of the program began studies over the summer. (See page 4.)

Scott Sandefur, BSM ’84, MSIR ’86, is executive director, labor relations, at General Motors.  

John Larson, MSM ’86, is the new CEO of Bestop, the leading manufacturer of soft tops and fabric accessories for Jeep vehicles.

Tom Pollihan, MSM ’88, is managing director at Summit Strategies Group in St. Louis, MO, where he has worked for more than 18 years. He also serves as lead consultant to several of the firm’s largest premier clients, specializing in consulting to corporate plans and hospital assets.


Sean Galligan, BS ACCT ’93, San Francisco, CA, is vice president and industry lead of Mobile App Marketing at Yahoo Inc.

Kirthi Kalyanam, PhD ’93, Los Gatos, CA, was appointed to the board of directors for Inc. He currently is the J.C. Penney research professor and director of the Retail Management Institute at the Leavey School of Business at Santa Clara University. His research and expertise are in retailing, Internet and multichannel marketing, and quantitative marketing.

Jennifer Lamie, BSM ’93, was named chief regulatory advisor for CBOE’s Regulatory Services Division on Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) and exchange rules and rule changes. She also will oversee the division’s interpretations and guidance program for trading permit holders. Lamie brings more than 17 years of industry experience and significant regulatory knowledge to the role. Prior to joining the regulatory team, she served as assistant general counsel in CBOE’s Legal Division.

Michael Melnyk, BSM ’93, Franklin, TN, was named chief financial officer of T.W. Frierson Contractor Inc.

Linlee Nelson, MSM ’93, was appointed to the publicity committee for the Soroptimist Spirit of Excellence Awards Banquet and Benefit. Nelson is the owner and operator of Big Sky Billiard Supply.

Marc G. Swanson, BSM ’94, is the interim CFO at SeaWorld Entertainment. Swanson served as vice president of performance management and corporate controller of SeaWorld Parks & Entertainment from 2011 to 2012.

1 | 2